Header Montage

Graduate Student Workshop on Computing 2007

Call for Papers

The Department of Computer Science at the University of California at Santa Barbara is sponsoring the Second Annual Computer Science Graduate Student Workshop on Computing. The focus of this workshop is to highlight top graduate student research within the department, promote the exchange of ideas among students, faculty, and industry, and familiarize new graduate students with the research conducted within our department and larger computer science community.

All graduate students are invited to submit 2-page abstracts describing recent and continuing work. Selected abstracts will appear in the workshop proceedings, and approximately 10-15 of the submitted abstracts will be selected for presentation.

Submissions are encouraged in any area of computing.


The abstract should describe the essential ideas in the research and have a short bibliography that includes any papers or technical memoranda on which the abstract is based. Abstracts should also include at least one figure. The first page of the abstract must begin with a title, the author's name(s) and e-mail address(es). Joint submissions by students are acceptable. The student making the presentation, however, should submit the paper. Papers and presentations should be aimed at a general computer science audience.

Papers should be formatted according to the ACM SIG Proceedings template. You may omit the copyright notice and the block of space at the bottom of the first column. Papers should be submitted as PDF documents with no page numbers. The printed proceedings will be in black-and-white, but color will be displayed in the electronic version.

Papers submitted shortly after the deadline may be included in the proceedings, but will not necessarily be considered for presentation.

Submit your abstract on or before the June 8th deadline.

Important Dates

Submission Deadline:   June 8th, 2007 Extended until July 11th
Author Notification:    September 5th, 2007
Workshop:    September 28th, 2007

Program Committee

Susmit Biswas (Co-Chair)    Architecture
Bob Gilbert (Co-Chair)    Network Security
Matthew Allen    P2P, Distributed Systems
Sorabh Gandhi    Sensor Networks, Theory
Imran Patel    High Performance Computing
Stacy Patterson    Distributed Systems
Krishna Puttaswamy    P2P Networks
Irfan Sheriff    Wireless Networks
Vishwakarma Singh    Bioinformatics, Data Mining
Sunil Soman    Dynamic Memory Management, Compilers
Mohit Tiwari    Architecture, Mobile Networks
Jason Wither    Augmented Reality
Lamia Youseff    Operating Systems, Virtualization


Fred Chong

Administrative Support

Greta Halle
Amanda Hoagland
XHTML Validation | CSS Validation
Updated 22-Jul-05
Questions should be directed to: webmaster@cs.ucsb.edu